Brucemore Volunteers Receive Governor’s Award

Brucemore volunteers Montelle Walton, Jeanne Bornemann, and Lynette Hemann pictured left to right following the ceremony.

Brucemore volunteers Jeanne Bornemann, Jan Bradley, Lynette Hemann, and Montelle Walton received a Governor’s Volunteer Award from Governor Kim Reynolds and Lt. Governor Adam Gregg during a special recognition ceremony held June 15 in Cedar Rapids.

The volunteers were honored for the extraordinary service they have shown through their volunteer efforts at Brucemore, including giving tours, welcoming guests to events, facilitating gardening efforts, and helping fulfill Brucemore’s mission to inspire community interaction with history, preservation, and the arts.

“As an independent non-profit, Brucemore relies on the support of more than 200 volunteers who donate thousands of hours collectively to inspire our visitors annually,” said Brucemore’s Chief Operating Officer Tara Richards. “Volunteers play a critical role in helping people love Brucemore and generating interest and support of our work to ensure the estate remains a valued part of the community for the next generation.”

More than 500 awards are being presented this year during five ceremonies across Iowa. It is estimated that more than 150 communities in Iowa were served by this year’s honorees.

“Iowans take great pride in their deep and rich commitment for serving others—it’s in our DNA,” Gov. Reynolds said. “Iowa nice is the foundation of our state–you see it everywhere you turn– Iowans volunteering their time to help others and improve their communities and our state. It truly is an honor to be able to recognize these individuals for their meaningful acts of generosity through the Governor’s Volunteer Awards and inspire others to do the same.” 

Coordinated by Volunteer Iowa, the Governor’s Volunteer Award program—now in its 38th year—provides an easy way for Iowa nonprofits, charitable organizations, and government entities to honor their volunteers with a prestigious, state-level award. More information is available at